pro grade view cart
Knowledgebase: Nutritional Information
I have heard people say that they are 'vegetarian', yet some of these people eat poultry, others eat dairy products and/or eggs (but no meat or fish), while some eat nothing of animal origin. What does the term 'vegetarian' actually mean?
Posted by Stephan Mackenzie on 22 April 2011 11:18 AM
The word 'vegetarian' is not well-defined. It includes people with a wide range of attitudes and eating behaviors with respect to foods of animal origin. Vegetarians all base their diets on foods of plant origin, but there are different levels of vegetarianism according to how much food derived from animals is also eaten. There are four major types of vegetarian: A 'semi vegetarian' eats poultry and/or fish (but no red meat), dairy foods and eggs; a 'lacto vegetarian' consumes dairy foods but no meat, fish or eggs. A 'lacto-ovo vegetarian' includes dairy foods and eggs (but no meat or fish); and a 'vegan' eats only foods of plant origin.
(0 votes)
This article was helpful
This article was not helpful

© Copyright 2010 | Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy | Returns Policy | Account Login| Affiliate Program
* These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.
If you are pregnant, nursing, taking medication, or have a medical condition, consult your physician before using this product.